Goodreads Choice Awards

It’s November, which means… time for the Goodreads Choice Awards.

All month long, Goodreads members can vote for their favorite novels/nonfiction/whatever of the year. If you’re not signed up for Goodreads, it’s easy to join and it’s free. You don’t even have to have a password (I always link in via my Facebook account).

Whether or not you vote for anything is obviously up to you. In my case, Goodreads is a way to connect with friends/other readers and to recommend books/browse books that I haven’t read yet. But I will say that, this year, I’ve voted for:

Science Fiction: The Human Division, by John Scalzi. Though Scalzi specifically says not to vote for his stuff this year (agitating for attention all month long is kind of a pain-in-the-butt, if you want to actually keep being a productive writer), I personally think his new novel is the best of the lot. (I’m also not a huge fan of Peter Hamiliton, David Weber, or Orson Scott Card, which helps narrow down the options here!)

Young Adult Fantasy/Science Fiction: Unsouled, by Neal Shusterman. I love the Unwind trilogy, so I felt compelled to cast my (write-in) ballot for its newest addition.

Middle Grade and Children’s: House of Hades, by Rick Riordan. I started reading the Percy Jackson books half as an experiment, half as a gag— ended up loving them, and then moving on to the next of Riordan’s “quintilogies.” In terms of creative myth application and allusive power, Riordan’s really got it going on–aside from reading the classics themselves, Edith Hamilton, and Thomas Bulfinch, kids could not do better than to read these tales.

Alas–I didn’t vote in any other categories. Most of what I read is pretty back-dated. I’m still trying to catch up on classics such as Emma or Brideshead Revisited, and spend the rest of my time reading either education tracts or nonfictional/reference books such as Wheelock’s Latin and The Story of English.

 Also, new fiction is awfully expensive these days, and I’m in my mid-twenties without a job (yet). I can afford used/deeply discounted books, but not so much the newer stuff. I’ve already splurged enough this year buying young adult fiction–which, thank the powers that be, is way less expensive than its adult counterpart/s! In fact, I would argue that young adult fiction has never been better, so that in some sense, it’s probably more worth buying than several of the adult titles I’ve seen this year.

Anyway–if there’s something you’ve read that you’d like to elevate in the hallowed halls of Goodreads fame, go over there and vote!

Leave a Reply

